Blog Tour | TALK BOOKISH TO ME

TALK BOOKISH TO ME

Author: Kate Bromley  

ISBN: 9781525806438

Publication Date: May 25, 2021

Publisher: Graydon House Books

Buy Links: 

BookShop.org

Harlequin 

Barnes & Noble

Amazon

Books-A-Million

Powell’s

WHAT’S BETTER THAN READING ROMANCE? 

Reading a romance book about a romance book.  Bromley shows us how to revamp the second chance romance trope.  And normally, I would not touch this trope with a ten-foot pole.  However, add a romance writer and bookstagrammer explaining the romance genre to her ex-boyfriend – well you got me!!!  

Talk Bookish to Me is a funny  romantic comedy about romance writer Kara Sullivan and her college ex-boyfriend Ryan Thompson. They have not seen each other in ten years since their shattering breakup.   As they reunite at the pre-wedding festivities, the love-hate banter kicks off with a bang.  

She is struggling with writer’s block and her best friend’s wedding;  the last person she needs is her “horrible” ex – Ryan.   However, Ryan may be the cure to her publisher’s looming deadline.   

TALK BOOKISH TO ME is a romance novel within a novel.   I love how the author walk the reader through the creation process of writing and included dialogue of the novel she is writing.   I love how she explains the life of a bookstagrammer.  I love how she explains the difference genres within romance.  I love how Ryan is in awe of all the intricate details many people do not realize about genre.  

The writing is excellent.  The dialogue is engrossing.  The heat factor is steamy.  And the secrets are hair-raising and will leave you crushed and hurting.

While the story is heartfelt it is also a little unfortunate.  I was horrified with Ryan’s secrets and disappointed in Kara’s actions in Italy.  Even though you may find triggers within the story, for me it was not a deal breaker.   Ryan as a character still had some growing up to do even after 10 years.    You will love Ryan’s bulldog DUKE more than him – trust me.   Slowly he and Kara find their HEA.  

TALK BOOKISH TO ME is simply the best kind of  “second chance romance” 

Social Links:

Author Website

Twitter: @kbromleywrites

Instagram: @katebromleywrites

Facebook: @katebromleywrites

Goodreads

Author Bio: 

KATE BROMLEY lives in New York City with her husband, son, and her somewhat excessive collection of romance novels (It’s not hoarding if it’s books, right?). She was a preschool teacher for seven years and is now focusing full-time on combining her two great passions – writing swoon-worthy love stories and making people laugh. Talk Bookish to Me is her first novel.

Book Summary:

TALK BOOKISH TO ME (On-sale: May 25, 2021; Graydon House; Trade Paperback Original; $15.99) is a laugh-out-loud stunner of a story, perfect for fans of Beach Read and The Bookish Life of Nina Hill, that will delight book nerds everywhere! 

Kara Sullivan is definitely not avoiding her deadline. After all, it’s the week of her best friend’s wedding and she’s the maid of honor, so she’s got lots of responsibilities. As a bestselling romance novelist with seven novels under her belt, she’s a pro and looming deadlines and writer’s block (which she definitely doesn’t have) don’t scare her. She’s just eager to support Cristina as she ties the knot with Jason.

But who should show up at Cristina and Jason’s rehearsal dinner but Kara’s college ex-boyfriend, (the gorgeous and infuriating) Ryan? Apparently, he’s one of Jason’s childhood friends, and he’s in the wedding party, too. Considering neither Kara nor Ryan were prepared to see each other again, it’s decidedly a meet-NOT-cute. There is nothing cute about this situation, and a bit of notice to mentally prepare would’ve been nice, Cristina! However, when Kara sits down to write again the next day, her writers’ block is suddenly gone. She has to wonder what’s changed. Are muses real…? And is Kara’s muse…Ryan?



Categories: In the Spotlight

Tell us what you think......

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: